Welsh Government

Office for Strategic Coordination of Health Research (OSCHR)

The independent Office for Strategic Coordination of Health Research (OSCHR) was created as a result of the Review of funding in UK health research (2006) led by Sir David Cooksey.

Sir David had identified considerable strength in the UK science base but revealed cultural, institutional and financial barriers to the effective translation of health research into clinical practice. The review envisioned a cultural change among the public funders of health research to address the barriers to research collaboration and to support the application and translation of basic research into patient care and economic benefit.

Since 2007, the OSCHR Board has demonstrated a powerful capacity to work across government through collaboration, addressing many of the issues required to ensure a comprehensive health research environment and leading to improved health outcomes and economic growth. The OSCHR process has helped to focus on the development of better NHS electronic data capabilities for research; create a research programme for public health and greatly enhance translation science. OSCHR is one of a number of fora where the public funders of health research work together with other stakeholders.

In 2011, Ministers in the then Department of Health and Social Care and the then Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) considered that OSCHR had delivered the majority of the changes to the UK health research landscape advocated in the Cooksey report. They agreed that OSCHR should continue to monitor the translational research activity funded by government and additionally explore the role the Board could play in enhancing the funders’ existing contributions to economic growth through the life science sector.

Board membership


Professor Chris Day                            
Independent Chair, Vice Chancellor and President, Newcastle University

Ex-officio members (2016)                  

Professor Chris Whitty                       
Chief Scientific Advisor, Department of Health and Social Care (From 1 January 2016)

Mr Gareth Davies                               
Director General Business and Science, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Dr Louise Wood                                 
In lieu of CEO, NIHR

Professor Fiona Watt                         
Executive Chair, MRC

Dr Ian Campbell                                 
Interim Exec Chair, Innovate UK

Professor David Crossman                 
Chief Scientist (Health), Scotland

Vacant pending appointment of new Director.
(Interim representation covered by Carys Thomas and Michael Bowdery), Health and Care Research Wales

Professor Ian Young                           
Health and Social Care Research & Development, Northern Ireland

Mr David Sweeney
Executive Chair, Research England

Independent members                          

Professor Jeremy Farrar                     
Medical research charities funders (February 2014 - March 2020) (in 2nd term)

Dr Eliot Forster                                   
Industry sector (from 1 January 2017)

Stuart Bell CBE                  
NHS sector (from 1 March 2016)

OSCHR Office                                     

Mr Nathan Moore                               
Head of OSCHR Office, Science Research and Evidence Directorate, Department of Health and Social Care

Nathan Moore, Head of OSCHR Office nathan.moore@dh.gsi.gov.uk